Uncategorized

My NaNoWriMo Journey

This is the first of two posts I will do about NaNoWriMo.  The second I will post at the beginning of December.

November is National Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), and this year I have committed to completing a novel within the month.  NaNoWriMo has its own site where writers can connect with other writers, earn badges, participate in conversations, and update their word count.  50,000 words is the goal, and so far  I am at 37,000 words!

My best advice for keeping on track is to fully explore the NaNoWriMo site and see what it has to offer.  Set small daily goals as well as the larger one of completing a novel.  For instance, my daily goal is to update my word count each day.  This motivates me to get some words in every day even if it is just a few words.

The badges you can earn are also very motivational.  You earn one for attending a live event, which I was able to do last night.  The live event was great because not only did I meet new people, but I was able to write without the distractions I would have faced at home.  Because of this, I was able to boost my word count.

So far, this has been a great experience.  I have met some new friends and been encouraged by others who’ve posted about their experience.  I am on track and confident I will be able to finish my novel by the end of November.  Even if for some reason I don’t finish, I don’t regret participating.   NaNoWriMo also has a young writer’s program, so no matter your age you can be involved.  It something every aspiring writer should try at least once!

If you are also participating in NaNoWriMo, feel free to share about your experience in the comment section.

Leave a Reply

