Uncategorized

Empower the Spirit of Thankfulness all Year

Amidst the plethora of shopping deals and Christmas decorating, Thanksgiving often gets overlooked, a brief celebration of food and football before we move onto celebrating the holidays.  Thanksgiving is a wonderful holiday though, when we stop and think about it.  A special day set aside to remind us of all we have to be thankful for, because even in the direst circumstances, there is still something to be thankful for.

Being thankful is not just for Thanksgiving, however.  We can be thankful every day of the year if we take a few minutes to remember to do so.  Thanksgiving is a good time to reflect on all we have and to also think about how we can remember to be thankful on into the New Year.  Here are three things that help me remember to be thankful.

Journaling:  I journal about all the things I have to be thankful for.  I don’t always do this every day, although at  certain times I have done so every day.  I found that it gave me a positive outlook each day and made me feel happier.  I especially do this when I start to feel down, because it always manages to uplift me.  Being a writer, this is something I couldn’t leave off the list!

Reading Memoirs:  Another thing that I have found reminds me to be thankful is reading memoirs.  Often I am amazed at what people had to go through to get where they are today.  One such memoir that I recently read was Taking Flight.  It is the story of Michaela DePrince, a war orphan from Sierra Leon who was adopted by Americans and rose to fame as a ballerina.  She endured hardships that many could not even imagine, but still emerged successful and happy.

Giving to others:  And finally, I look for ways to help others, whether it be through a monetary donation, or just a donation of my time.  One of my favorite charities is Operation Christmas Child, where you pack a shoebox full of Christmas gift for underprivileged children around the world.  Helping those less fortunate than you always inspires thankfulness, and often a desire to help others even more.

So this Thanksgiving, take time to remember what you have to be thankful for.  Think about how you can keep the spirit of thankfulness all year.  Studies have shown that being thankful is tied to being healthier, so not only is it good for your mind, it’s also good for your body!  And as always, feel free to share in the comments, whether it be something you are thankful for or ways you express that thankfulness.

 

6 thoughts on “Empower the Spirit of Thankfulness all Year”

  1. So true. It’s not often enough that I take a moment to reflect on how many things I have to be thankful for.

    We as Americans, also rarely take time to reflect on how thankful we should be to live in this great nation. It may not be perfect, nothing ever is, but it’s home.

    Thanks for the reminder, Charity. Happy Thanksgiving to you.

Leave a Reply

