Cinderella Series

The Captive Maiden

For this month, I am doing a series of blog posts.  As I mentioned before, Cinderella is my favorite fairy tale and there are numerous retellings of the story.  I am going to highlight some of my favorite retellings, one each week.  I’m starting with A Captive Maiden by Melanie Dickerson.  I will post twice this week, first will be the feature on the book, and second will be my interview with Melanie Dickerson.  Hope you enjoy the series!

From the back cover: Gisela’s childhood was filled with laughter and visits from nobles such as the duke and his young son. But since her father’s death, each day has been filled with nothing but servitude to her stepmother. So when Gisela learns the duke’s son, Valten—the boy she has daydreamed about for years—is throwing a ball in hopes of finding a wife, she vows to find a way to attend, even if it’s only for a taste of a life she’ll never have. To her surprise, she catches Valten’s eye. Though he is rough around the edges, Gisela finds Valten has completely captured her heart. But other forces are bent on keeping the two from falling further in love, putting Gisela in more danger than she ever imagined.

This is a medieval retelling.  Though there is no magic in this retelling, it is enticing, holding your interest until the last page.  There are knights and jousting and horses.  Gisela has her own horse, and as a horse lover, I really enjoyed the detailed scenes with the horses. The characters are fully developed and relatable.  Unlike in the original fairytale, Gisela and Valten develop a relationship through multiple meetings, not just one dance at the ball.  You feel for Gisela and Valten and cheer for them to find their way back to each other.  I enjoyed this book and recommend you read it if you love fairytale retellings!

What is your favorite Cinderella retelling?  Let me know in the comments.  It might just be one of the books I feature this month:)

2 thoughts on “The Captive Maiden”

  1. Ha, this is so funny Charity! As I was reading your blog post, what movie had my six year old put in the dvd player, but Ella Enchanted! It’s such a fun and quirky retelling, I must say, I enjoy watching it right along with my six year old! I haven’t read the book, but your post prompted me to put it in my Amazon wish list, who knows it might become a new favorite in our house!

Leave a Reply

