Book Reviews

Three YA Books for Suspense Fans

After taking a short hiatus from my blog, I am back to posting every week.  I’ve been working on my novel, and will soon have some exciting news to share about it!

Today’s post is about a genre that often gets overlooked in the YA division – suspense. There are some really great YA suspense novels out there, and I have recently read three that I want to share.

The first is Velvet Undercover by Teri Brown.  This is the story of a girl who becomes a spy during WWI.  She is sent to the heart of the enemy – the German palace.  While posing as a governess for the the kaiser’s children, she must find another spy known as Velvet before they are both discovered and killed.

The second book is These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly.  The story takes place during the Victorian era (which I love to read about).  Jo is a rich young lady, who wants to become a reporter.  When her father dies, supposedly because his gun went off while cleaning it, Jo is suspicious.  She know her father knew better than to clean a loaded gun.  The more she discovers about his death, the more she is convinced there is more to the story.  With the help of a young reporter named Eddie, she searches for the truth.

The final book is Don’t Look Back  by Jennifer L. Armentrout.  This contemporary story is about Samantha, a popular girl who had it all. She disappeared with her best friend, Cassie.  When she is found, she has no memories, and is horrified to discover how mean she was.  The more she learns about herself the more secrets she uncovers, but someone doesn’t want her memories to come back.  Cassie is still missing, and Samantha knows that she was with Cassie the night she disappeared. If she can remember, she might know what happened to Cassie.  But will remembering cost her her life?

I highly enjoyed all three of these books.  They were page-turners that I couldn’t put down until the end.  If you like suspense, you should check out these books!

3 thoughts on “Three YA Books for Suspense Fans”

  1. Oooh! I love a good spy story! “Don’t Look Back” sounds interesting too! I should add that to my reading list.
    If I may, I recommend reading “Into the Shadows”–it’s about teens, spies, and terrorists! *whispers* And I wrote it! 😁
    -Beatrice Delrow

Leave a Reply

