Blog tours, Book Reviews

The Redpoint Crux Book Review

TOUR BANNER (1)

I’m happy to be part of the Fantastic Flying Book Club’s blog tour for The Redpoint Crux. Below you’ll find the book info, my review of the book, info about the author, and don’t forget to check out the giveaway at the bottom of the post!

TRCThe Redpoint Crux

by Morgan Shamy

Publisher: The Parliament House
Release Date: June 9th 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mystery
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png
Synopsis:
Fans of The Phantom of the Opera and Black Swan will enjoy this thrilling debut.
When Megan Van Helsburg gets kicked off the U.S.A. Climbing Team, she has no choice but to return home and leave her climbing career behind. With no coach, no money, and no prospects, she joins the corps de ballet determined to improve her strength and agility. But the ballet theater is in dire straits. Not only do a series of murders break loose, but the ballerinas are becoming deathly thin and brain-dead. As Megan investigates, she meets Bellamy, a tortured young man who lives beneath the depths of the theater. Megan falls hard and fast for Bellamy, who becomes her mentor, but something is off about him.

It isn’t until the company announces they’re doing Giselle for the fall performance that Megan realizes the parallels between the ghost story and the lives around her. Megan must find a way to not only save her climbing career, but balance her feelings for Bellamy, and stop the murders and dying girls before she, too, is numbered among the dead.

My Review

My rating: 4 stars

This book had so many things I like  – ballerinas, haunted places, mysterious murders – and it’s a bit of a retelling of The Phantom of the Opera, which I also love. The suspense built through each chapter, and kept me turning pages faster and faster until the end. The characters were intriguing, though I wished we had been able to learn more about Megan’s mom and her backstory since that was part of Megan’s growth journey. Overall, I really enjoyed the book! Fans of Tiny Pretty Things and Don’t Look Back will enjoy this book.

About the Author

Morgan Shamy is an ex-ballerina turned YA writer. She is represented by Kelly Peterson of Rees Literary Agency.
Morgan has been immersed in the arts since the young age of 4, where she trained under the tutelage of Julie and Stacey Orlob. She performed various roles alongside a professional ballet company for over seven years, and has danced on prestigious stages like soloing at Carnegie Hall in New York City.
She has taught hundreds of girls in her fifteen years of teaching, where some of her students have received full-ride scholarships to schools like School of American Ballet, the Harid Conservatory, Kirov Academy of Ballet, and Pacific Northwest Ballet, to name a few.
Morgan discovered writing when her three-year-old  son was diagnosed with cancer. It was through that experience which instilled the need to share art and magic with children through words on the page. Morgan currently lives with her X-Games gold-medalist husband and four children in the cold mountains of Alaska.

Giveaway Link

Win a $10 Amazon gift card!  a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog tours

The Redpoint Crux Blog Tour Schedule

TOUR BANNER (1)

I’m excited to be part of The Fantastic Flying Book Club’s book tour for The Redpoint Crux by Morgan Shamy. Here is the schedule for the tour:

Blog Tour Schedule

June 3rd

June 4th

L.M. Durand – Guest Post
Captivated Reading – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Reading Faery – Review

June 5th

Indie and Diverse – Review
Small Stained Pages – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes
The Reading Life – Promotional Post

June 6th

Moonlight Rendezvous – Review + Favourite Quotes
Books and Zebras – Review
Inktalkswithmaria – Review
The Writers’s Alley – Review + Playlist

June  7th

Bookishly Nerdy – Review + Favourite Quotes
Bookish Looks – Promotional Post

June 8th

BiblioJoJo – Review + Favourite Quotes
Mahkjchi’s Not-So-Secret Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Susan Heim on Writing – Promotional Post

June 9th

Kait Plus Books – Guest Post
Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Review + Playlist
Wishful Books Reviews – Review + Favourite Quotes

TRCThe Redpoint Crux

by Morgan Shamy
Publisher: The Parliament House
Release Date: June 9th 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mystery
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png
Synopsis:
Fans of The Phantom of the Opera and Black Swan will enjoy this thrilling debut.
When Megan Van Helsburg gets kicked off the U.S.A. Climbing Team, she has no choice but to return home and leave her climbing career behind. With no coach, no money, and no prospects, she joins the corps de ballet determined to improve her strength and agility. But the ballet theater is in dire straits. Not only do a series of murders break loose, but the ballerinas are becoming deathly thin and brain-dead. As Megan investigates, she meets Bellamy, a tortured young man who lives beneath the depths of the theater. Megan falls hard and fast for Bellamy, who becomes her mentor, but something is off about him.
It isn’t until the company announces they’re doing Giselle for the fall performance that Megan realizes the parallels between the ghost story and the lives around her. Megan must find a way to not only save her climbing career, but balance her feelings for Bellamy, and stop the murders and dying girls before she, too, is numbered among the dead.
Blog tours

Kingdom of the Cloud Blog Tour Schedule

TOUR BANNER

I’m excited to part of the Kingdom of the Cloud blog tour hosted by the Fantastic Flying Book Club.  Lots of great book blogs are participating in the tour, so be sure to check them out.  Here is the blog tour schedule:

May 14th

May 15th

Annej Reads – Story Behind the Cover
Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Review + Favourite Quotes
BiblioJoJo – Review

May 16th

Bookish Looks – Character Interview

L.M.Durand – Review
Precious books world – Review + Favourite Quotes

May 17th

Kait Plus Books – Official Book Playlist
Abooktropolis – Review
BoundbyWord – Review + Favourite Quotes
bewitchingwords – Review

May 18th

The Reading Life – Character Interview

Nay’s Pink Bookshelf – Review + Favourite Quotes
Levicorpvs Blog – Review

May 19th

@the.magicalpages – Guest Post
Books And Dice – Review + Favourite Quotes
Bookishly Nerdy – Review
Ya It’s Lit – Review + Favourite Quotes

A Lot Of Pages – Review

May 20th

Books, Tea, Healthy Me – Interview
Foals, Fiction & Filigree – Review + Favourite Quotes
BoundbyWords – Review
The Baroness of Books – Review

 

book cover

BOOK INFORMATION:                                                                                                              Kingdom Above the Cloud (Tales from Adia, #1) by Maggie Platt
Publisher: Ambassador International
Release Date: April 17th 2020                                                                                                      Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Allegory

Synopsis:

What if the nine Fruit of the Spirit and the Seven Deadly Sins were locked in a battle for control?

Abandoned as infants, Tovi and her twin brother were raised by an eclectic tribe of warm, kind people in a treehouse village in the valley. After her brother’s sudden disappearance Tovi questions her life and her faith in an invisible King. Ignoring her best friend Silas’ advice, she decides to search for her brother in the kingdom on top of the mountain.

Above the cloud, the Council of Masters receives their orders. Tovi and her brother are the objectives. King Damien has a plan and Tovi is the key. The Council of Masters want her, but will she remain unscathed?

Amidst the glamour of the kingdom above the cloud Tovi is torn between her own dark desires and unanswered questions. It starts with a snake and a crown. When the ring is complete, will her life be over?

Blog tours

Fairy Tale Central Blog Tour

If you’ve been following my blog for long, then you know I love fairy tales. And when I learned about this new resource for fairy tale lovers, I knew I had to share it! It’s great for both readers and writers, so without further ado, here’s how Fairy Tale Central came to be…

Once Upon a Time two girls had a dream. A dream of a fairy tale site, an internet library, if you will, for all the fairy tale lovers of the land to gather and converse. To learn, to read, to fangirl/boy, to bask in the goodness that is fairy tales.

As this dream blossomed, the two girls recruited a third. Because, after all, all good fairy tales come in themes of three.

With the third member in place, the girls got to work. The dream began to take shape, until it was no longer just a dream. But something real.

Introducing…

FAIRY TALE CENTRAL

fairy tale central

This newly launched site run by Arielle Bailey, Faith White, and Christine Smith, is your source for all things fairy tales.

Every month a single fairy tale will be featured, and posts will include:

 

  • Reviews for retellings/shows/movies/etc.
  • Essay, origin, and discussion posts on the featured fairy tale
  • Interviews with fairy tale retelling authors
  • Galleries featuring fairy tale artists and artisans
  • And a whole lot more!

 

The FTC’s goal is to unlock the magic that is fairy tales and build a community of fellow fairy tale enthusiasts. Arielle, Faith, and Christine are thrilled to share this new fairy tale centric space and connect with all you epic fairy tale fans!

You can CLICK HERE to find the site and join the Fairy Ring! (Don’t worry, you won’t be enchanted or cursed.) And, if you want to connect even more, you can find the FTC on:

 

 

(If you’re inclined to share about the FTC in those places too, you may or may not be blessed by a fairy godmother. *smile, smile*)

Do tell a friend, or a dragon, or the fairy living in the hollow tree behind your house. All humans and mythological creatures alike are welcome!