Blog tours, Book Reviews

Mirroland Blog Tour

53512eb0-4116-0eb8-0fa4-626d8a529826.gif (1440×810)

I’m thrilled to be part of this blog tour hosted by https://www.thewritereads.com/.

Ultimate Tour – Scribner

Mirrorland by Carole Johnstone

About the Book

Twelve years ago my life began again.

But it was a lie.

With the startling twists of Gone Girl and the haunting emotional power of Room, Mirrorland is the story of twin sisters, the man they both love, and the dark childhood they can’t leave behind.

Cat lives in Los Angeles, about as far away as she can get from her estranged twin sister El and No. 36 Westeryk Road, the imposing gothic house in Edinburgh where they grew up. As girls, they invented Mirrorland, a dark, imaginary place under the pantry stairs full of pirates, witches, and clowns. These days Cat rarely thinks about their childhood home, or the fact that El now lives there with her husband Ross.

But when El mysteriously disappears after going out on her sailboat, Cat is forced to return to the grand old house, which has scarcely changed in twenty years. No. 36 Westeryk Road is still full of shadowy, hidden corners, and at every turn Cat finds herself stumbling on long-held secrets and terrifying ghosts from the past. Because someone—El?—has left Cat clues all over the house: a treasure hunt that leads right back to Mirrorland, where she knows the truth lies crouched and waiting…

A sharply crafted mystery about love and betrayal, redemption and revenge, Mirrorland is a propulsive, page-turning debut about the power of imagination and the price of freedom. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Ruth Ware, and Daphne du Maurier.

My Review

Wow! This book had me on the edge of my seat, and I read it in two sittings. I enjoyed the writing style, and the suspense built at the story progressed, keeping me invested in what was happening.

I really liked the main character, Catriona. I found her relatable, especially with the back and forth relationship between her and her sister. I think anyone who has siblings can probably relate to that on some level. I liked how they created their own fantasy world as children, something that me and my siblings also did when we were young. I loved how the author weaved the fairytales and fantasies into the story and I loved all the references to classic literature.

The twists just kept coming, even up to the very end, and some of them I didn’t see which is unusual for me as I typically have the story figured out before the end. Also, I have to say that ending was very satisfying – something that is not always the case for some books like this. If you enjoy fast-paced, twisty psychological thrillers, you’ll enjoy this one – if you liked Gone Girl, you’ll like this one as well.

About the Author

Carole Johnstone is an award-winning writer from Scotland, whose short stories have been published all over the world. Mirrorland, a psychological suspense with a gothic twist, is her debut novel.

Having grown up in Lanarkshire, she now lives in the beautiful Argyll & Bute, and is currently working on her second novel: a very unusual murder-mystery, set in the equally beautiful Outer Hebrides. You can visit her at  https://carolejohnstone.com/about/.

Readathons, Reading Challenge

October is Readathon Month!

Every year in October, I participate in #scarathlon, a Halloween-themed challenge on Litsy. (If you haven’t heard about Litsy, you can read more about it here. There are two teams, and you receive points for reading books, watching tv shows and movies, and for time spent reading during readathons. And there are a lot of readathons in October. I’ve chosen a few of them to participate in.

  1. #Whodunitathon – Hosted by @whodunitathon on Twitter, this is a month long challenge that you work through in stages:

I have completed Stage 1 – The Premise. My setting is Manhattan (book read: The Midwife Murders by James Patterson). My detective is the police inspector (book read: The Birthday Girl by Melissa De La Cruz). And my sidekick is the unflappable butler (book read: Atomic Habits by James Clear).

2. #Anunfortunatereadathon – Hosted by the @readyreaders on Instagram, this challenge has a bingo board to complete.

So far, I’ve completed Sunny Baudelaire – Monsterstreet: The Halloweeners by JH Richards, Count Olaf – The Midwife Murders by James Patterson, Aunt Josephine – Too Much and Never Enough by Mary L. Trump, and The Reptile Room – Very Scary Halloween by Eve Bunting.

3. #trickortreatathon hosted by @samanthashares and @heyatlascreative on Instagram.

I’ve chosen the trick path to start with and have read Mike Meyers: The Midwife Murders by James Patterson and Richard DiLallo, and The Sanderson Sisters: The Halloween Queen by Joan Holub.

4. #Thrilloweenreadathon hosted by @readwithalison on Instagram.

So far I’ve read #3 witches – The Halloween Queen by Joan Holub, #5 haunted house – At the Old Haunted House by Helen Ketteman, and #10 thriller book from library – Monsterstreet: The Halloweeners by J.H. Reynolds.

What about you? Are you doing any readathons this month? Let me know in the comments.