Book Reviews

Top Ten Reads of 2023

Hello Readers! It’s hard to believe that 2024 is just hours away. I hope you’ve all had a wonderful holiday season!

Here are my top ten reads of 2023:

  1. Splintered by A.G. Howard – I read this as part of the #fairytalereadingchallenge, and I really enjoyed it. It’s a creative, modern retelling of Alice In Wonderland, and I’ll be reading the next two books in the series as well.
  2. Brain Damage by Freida McFadden – I really like all of Freida’s books, and she is one of my auto-buy/auto-read authors. This book, however, is one of her best! I couldn’t put it down, and the twist at the end was so good.
  3. The Only One Left by Riley Sager – Also an auto-buy author, you can pretty much assume that his new book each year is going to make my top ten list. This one is one of my favorites. I loved the isolated setting, creepy house, and the relatable MC.
  4. The Depths by Nicole Lesperance – I couldn’t believe I waited so long to read this one! It had been on my TBR for awhile and it was a book I already owned. Another isolated setting, this time a tropical island, really added to the suspense and mystery. I couldn’t put this one down either!
  5. Well, That Was Unexpected by Jesse S. Sutanto – This one is a little different from my normal genres, as it’s a YA romance, but I absolutely loved it! In fact, it made me want to check out the rest of the author’s books.
  6. Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers by Jesse S. Sutanto – This one had such believable and relatable characters, and despite being a thriller/suspense, it still had so much heart and actually made me cry. It pretty much sealed up Jesse becoming another auto-buy author.
  7. All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace – Another YA fantasy, this one reminded me of why I love the genre so much – epic world-building and vibrant characters with so much dedication to achieving their goals!
  8. Capturing the Devil by Kerri Maniscalco – This series!! It’s so good. Thomas and Audrey Rose are one of my favorite book couples, and this was the perfect ending to their story.
  9. Caraval by Stephanie Garber - Another book I can’t believe I waited so long to read! It lived up to the hype, and I can’t wait to read the rest of Stephanie’s books.
  10. Poisoned by Jennifer Donnelly – I’ve loved all of Jennifer Donnelly’s books, and this one was no different. A retelling of Snow White, it left me thinking about the story long after I put the book down.

What was your favorite read of the year? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment