Fairytale Reading Challenge

Fairytale Reading Challenge – March Recommendations

I’m hosting the Fairytale Reading Challenge again this year. The challenge is to read a fairytale, fairytale retelling, or fairytale inspired book for each month. March’s theme is Hansel and Gretel.

Here are three recommendations for the prompt:

Sweetly by Alex Flinn – I read this several years ago and really enjoyed it! It’s set in the real world with a magical one overlaying it, and I really like how the author did this. Gretchen, the MC, has a twin sister who was taken by a witch when she and her brother were little, and they now must figure out where the witch is before she takes her next victim.

The Waking Forest by Alyssa Wees – This is the book I read for the challenge. This is touted as a Hansel and Gretel retelling, but the ties to the original fairytale are kind of weak. There is a witch and the candy house is mentioned, but that is pretty much it. I’ll be posting my full review soon.

The Sugar Witch” (from Tales From Long Ago and Far Away) – This is a short story from my anthology. It was so fun to write and is one of my favorite tales in the collection.

What are you reading for March? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment